How We Met

I was in a splendid state of mind. I left the revelry on stage for the drinks table to help myself to what must have been my 5th glass of Gin Tonic. Manfred introduced me to this wonderfully refreshing beverage barely 15mins before, and I couldn’t get enough of it.
From the corner of my eyes, a similarly estatic girl popped by the table just as I was about to leave.

“I’ll have another of what you’re having!”

“No problem! It’s a Gin Tonic – 4 parts Gin and 1 part tonic. Best drink ever! Up for it?”

“Sounds like the perfect drink”  I was impressed.

Project Namaste
We were on a community service trip to Nepal. It was the winter of 2006, and we took a mid-expedition break from the village to the city for a night of R&R. Everyone worked hard teaching and interacting with the kids in the mornings, and restoring/painting the school compound in the afternoons.  The R&R was a much needed respite to unwind.

As we attempted to saunter back to the pack arm-in-arm, we noticed the deckchairs by the lake. It was snap decision between the rowdy pack belting out bad karaoke on stage and this:

No prizes for guessing the winner.But okay, I exaggerate. The boats were there, the lake majestic. But it was dark, so we couldn’t really see anything beside silhouettes.That didn’t make a difference anyway. We talked about anything under the stars, and connected (now, now, don’t let your mind get carried away!). And as they say, the rest is history.

I just love Gin Tonics.

Leave a Reply

